Call for comments on the draft Mid and Downstream Petroleum Regulations

The enactment of the Energy Act 2019 and the Petroleum Act 2019 introduced changes in the regulatory framework of the petroleum sub-sector. In order to accommodate the changes, EPRA has developed a set of eleven (11) draft regulations, namely:

  •  The Petroleum (Business Licensing and Facility Construction Permit) Regulations, 2020
  •  The Petroleum (Operation of Common User Petroleum Facilities) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Importation of Petroleum Products) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Information and Statistics) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Licensing of Petroleum Road Transportation Business, Road Tankers and Drivers) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Lubricants Facility Construction and Business Licensing) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Minimum Operational Stock) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Pricing) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Products Quality Management) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Retail Station Construction and Licensing) Regulations, 2020
  • The Petroleum (Strategic Stocks) Regulations, 2020

The draft regulations were published in the Kenya Gazette Vol. CXXII No. 242 of 31st December 2020. Stakeholders are requested to review the aforementioned regulations and provide feedback that will be considered for incorporation in the regulations that will be gazetted.

Comments on the draft regulations using the prescribed public comments form or written memoranda clearly marked “PUBLIC COMMENTS ON DRAFT PETROLEUM REGULATIONS” can be sent by email to In addition, comments may be dropped at the Authority’s headquarters in Nairobi and/ or satellite Offices listed below between 8:00 a.m and 5:00 p.m. during business days not later than Monday, 1st March 2021.

Regions Physical Address
Nairobi Office 1st Floor, Eagle Africa Centre, Longonot Road, Upper Hill
Coast Region Office – Mombasa 3rd floor, Kilindini Plaza Building, Moi Avenue
Nyanza & Western Region – Kisumu 2nd floor, Lake Basin Mall
North Rift Region – Eldoret 7th Floor, Eldoret Daima Towers
South Rift Region – Nakuru 3rd floor, Jeniffer Riria Hub
Central Region – Nyeri 4th Floor, KDS Centre, Kimathi Way

Click on the links below to view and download the respective documents.

Kenya Gazette Vol. CXXII No. 242 of 31st December 2020

Stakeholder/ Public comments form